BUSU elections: past and future

Photo credit: Zoe Archambault

Photo credit: Zoe Archambault

In the February BUSU elections, Brock University students were voting to fill six positions. With nine candidates overall, here were the results: for President, Asad Jalib won with 3,231 votes to his opponent’s 640. For Vice President, External Affairs, Alexa Leitch won with 2,251 votes, to her opponent’s 1,455. For Vice President, Finance and Administration, Rafay Rehan won with 3,282 votes. For Vice President, Student Services, Raadhiya Zowmi won with 3,164 votes. For Board of Directors (one-year term), Daniel Ikhagbode won with 2,143 votes to his opponent’s 1,362. Lastly, for the Board of Directors (two-year term), Dev Jariwala won with 2,723 votes.

The voter turnout was 24.1 per cent, with 4,056 total votes. This is a marked decline from last year’s voter turnout of 36.7 per cent.

On Friday, March 6 nominations for the BUSAC positions will close, and candidates will have a week from March 9 to prepare before campaigns start on March 16. Voting will take place from March 24 to 26, and results will be announced at 9:30 p.m. on Thursday, March 26.

The Brock University Students’ Administrative Council (BUSAC) is a branch of the elected student government within BUSU. It is an electoral body that governs over decisions such as by-laws, club funding, capital requests, political policies, elections and has many committees that do important work across a number of spectrum’s that BUSU oversees.

The position available are as follows:

Director of the Board (one available):

The BUSU Board of Directors is the highest governance body of BUSU. The Directors of the Board are responsible for governing over the BUSU legislation, legal and human resource issues and finances. The Board of Directors meet bi-weekly for up to two-hours a meeting.

BUSAC Councillors (23 available):

Of the 23 available positions, 16 are for at-large councillors, six are for faculty representatives and one for an extra faculty BUSAC councillor.

Senate Representatives (four available):

In accordance with the Brock University Act, the Senate is responsible for the educational policy of the University and, with the approval of the Board insofar as expenditure of funds is concerned, may enact by-laws and regulations for the conduct of its affairs. Senate meets two-hours a month, with additional commitments required for those sitting on committees.

The Senate includes six undergraduate students, with the following positions available: One-Year Term (one available, ending 2021), Two-Year Term (three available, ending 2022). As a Senate Representative, students have the opportunity to ensure the undergraduate voice is heard at the Senate level.

Candidates need to read the Senate section of the Faculty Handbook and will also need to comply with BUSU’s Elections Policy (Policy 103).

Undergraduate students seeking to be elected to must meet the following requirements:

Are 18 years of age or older, be registered in 0.5 credits during the 2019-2020 year, hold a minimum 60 per cent average at the time of nomination, must also allow the BUSU Elections team to confirm this through the University’s Registrar office and must not have declared bankruptcy.

Information about the February elections results, the upcoming March election and how to get nominated can be found on the BUSU website.

Pin It

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>