Brock athletes earn top OUA and CIS honours

Over the recent weeks, Brock athlete’s were awarded some top OUA and CIS honours. Here is a breakdown of those awards.

Brock Men’s Hockey
The third year business student Chris Maniccia is a centerman for the Brock Men’s Hockey team who finished their season 6-22 in the OUA. Despite an unimpressive ending to the season, the team’s record was not reflective of the way they played. The Badgers played an intense 60 minutes every game and Maniccia was a big contributor to their team as he was recognized for his performance this season and was named to the OUA Second Team All-Stars for the 2015-16 season.

In his first season with the Badgers, Maniccia placed first in scoring as he registered a total of 28 points, giving Maniccia eight goals and 20 assists over the course of 27 games.
Throughout the season, Maniccia collected multiple points in nine games, in three of those games he recorded a career-high three points. When the Badgers defeated the Windsor Lancers on November 13 by a score of 3-2, Maniccia was a big contributor to the game as he setup all three Brock goals for his first three-point performance. Maniccia recorded his first regular season goal as a Badger in his first game versus the Waterloo Warriors on October 8.

Maniccia also won the Vince Scott Memorial Trophy due to ranking first in scoring and also won the Ed Davis Award for Most Valuable Player, which is a Brock Men’s Hockey specific award.
Brock also honoured Skylar Pacheco multiple awards as he earned the Denhold Award for Rookie of the Year and the Dave Burt Award for Defenseman of the Year. Pacheco, a native of Kitimat, British Columbia earned 19 points this season on five goals and 14 assists.

Badgers defensemen, Even Morden received the Mike Nicholson Award for Sportsmanship. Morden who was a former Western Hockey League player was repeatedly called upon to defend other teams’ top lines. Morden was recognized for his steady defensive play as a Badger this season.

Lastly, third year left winger Ryan Purvis was recognized with the 212 Degrees Award. This award goes to a Brock player who best displays a high level of competitiveness and helps the team move forward.

Brock Men’s Basketball
One of the big contributors to the Men’s Basketball team was Dani Elgadi as he was recognized as a CIS First Team All-Canadian for the 2015-2016 year.

Elgadi becomes just the eighth CIS First Team All-Canadian selection in school history, joining Wally Dick (1969-70), Gord Wood (1991-92), Dave Picton (1993-94, 1995-96), Clint Holtz (1994-95) and Kevin Stienstra (2004-05, 2005-06).

Elgadi has quite the impressive resume as he was named Rookie of the Year and OUA and CIS all-rookie team in the 2013-14 year while also being named an OUA first team all-star after averaging a double-double this season.

He finished sixth in OUA scoring averaging 19.9 points per game and was the OUA leader in rebounds finishing with 223 boards (11.7 rebounds per game). Elgadi also finished second in OUA blocks (38) and steals (41). For the season, Elgadi shot 47.0 per cent (133-for-283) from the field and 77.3 per cent (109-for-141) from the charity stripe.

More impressively, Elgadi became the first in school history as he had one of the top single season performances. He recorded double figures in 34 of 38 games, including 20 double-doubles. He finished with the third best single season points total adding 740 points. He also grabbed 383 rebounds and collected 283 field goals which both rank second all-time in the Brock single season record books. His overall season averages were 19.9 points per game, 11.7 rebounds per game, 2.2 steals per game and 2.0 blocks per game.

Other awards coming from the Men’s Basketball team were Johneil Simpson as he earned a spot as an OUA Second team All-Star as he finished second on the team in scoring averaging 16.6 points per game and was third in rebounding averaging 6.3 rebounds per game. In 19 regular season contests, Simpson shot 39.7% per cent from the field, 31.7 per cent from beyond the arc and 78.4 per cent from the free throw line.

Simpson named OUA second team all-star /

Simpson named OUA second team all-star /

Lastly, Tyler Brown was selected to the OUA All-Rookie team after leading the Badgers to a 27-11 overall record as a first-year point guard. In 19 regular season games, Brown averaged 7.0 points, 2.2 rebounds, 2.9 assists and 1.5 steals.

Brock Women’s Basketball
Some recognizable players for the Brock Women’s Basketball team this season were Melissa Tatti and Chrissy Sirignano as they both earned OUA season honours.

Last year Tatti earned herself OUA All-Rookie team rights, and one upped that this year as she was named an OUA Second team All-Star for the first time in her career as she averaged 10.2 points and 2.5 rebounds per game.

Also recognized for her performance on the Women’s Basketball team was Sirignano as she was named to the OUA All-Rookie team after averaging 5.5 points, 1.6 rebounds and 1.1 assists in just 13.5 minutes per game off the bench. She finished second on the team in free throw percentage going 18-for-21 and was fourth in three-pointers made with 15 successful attempts.

Brock Women’s Volleyball
The Brock Women’s Volleyball team struggled to a 2-17 OUA record, but saw a lot of potential from their young players. Specifically, Alanna Norris was selected to the OUA West All-Rookie team.
Norris finished the season with 0.63 aces per set, which ranked second in the OUA. She also finished second on the Brock team in points with 119, digs (99) and points per set (2.0).

This was the sixth straight year a Badger player was named to the OUA West All-Rookie team, as Abby Jenkins, Alison Pumputis, Karlinna O’Leary, Lauren Stirling and Tess Palmateer all did it prior to Norris.

Other Brock news
This past weekend, Brock Women’s Wrestling continued its success in 2016 as the Junior and Senior teams won titles at the National Championships.

Kristina Mclaren, who earned her first CIS gold medal a month ago, would finish her year with a gold in 51kg at the Junior Nationals. Farrantina Gatta won bronze in 51kg, and their teammates Kelsey Hall (55kg) and Emily Schaefer (59kg) finished fourth overall in their respective weight classes.
For the second straight year Indira Moores won gold at the Senior Nationals in the 60kg class. Jade Parsons (53kg), Jessica Brouillette (63kg) and Olivia Di Bacco (69kg) all added silvers to their list of medals.

On the men’s side, Jevon Balfour won gold at the Senior Nationals in 74kg, while Chris McIsaac (60kg) and Chance Mutuku (74klg) earned silver in the Junior Nationals.

Currently, Brock Men and Women’s Curling is participating in the CIS Championships, which runs from March 20-23.

Stay connected with The Brock Press for more upcoming Brock Athletic news.

Connor Allen
Assistant Sports Editor

Pin It

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>