Unbeatable, undisputable, irrefutable… champions

For the fourth consecutive season, the Brock men’s wrestling team can call themselves this nation’s best. A narrow victory over fellow Ontario University Athletics (OUA) schools Lakehead and Guelph gave the men that unprecedented accomplishment, and kept alive a long-standing winning tradition in the wrestling program, the seventh national title the team has taken.

In all, Brock had six medallists at the Canadian Interuniversity Sports (CIS) tournament, including three gold, one silver and two bronze. The three gold medals went to Clint Kingsbury, Ryan Weicker and Steve Snyders. Kingsbury had to defeat the No. 1 seed in the country on his route to the gold, while Weicker fought the flu to win his. Snyders used incredible toughness putting aside a knee injury to get a gold.

The individual silver medal went to Rookie-of-the-Year Adam Fera. The bronze medals went to James Pernal and Jay Allin.

Coach Richard DesChataletes was impressed with his team’s resolve to get past all the adversities of the tournament, “We stuck together… and brought home the win.”

Next year could potentially be another banner year for the men. All six medallists from this season may return, and DesChataletes believes there is a great shot at winning it all again. “We are going to be very tough to beat” he said.

The men’s victory, coupled with the women’s national title, meant that this year was the first time that both championship teams had come from the same school. The men’s wrestling team was a finalist in the Team-of-the-Year award running, but did not win, despite the six overall CIS medallists and six OUA gold medallists (Weicker, Pernal, Allin, Sweezy, Snyders and Kingsbury).

Pin It

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>